Tulip Baroo (pronounced “bah-ROO”) Bakery is a production kitchen located on the second floor of 168 Water Street in downtown St. John’s, Newfoundland & Labrador. We specialize in desserts and breads that are both vegan and gluten-free, while maintaining a strong emphasis on quality and creative artistry. Our goodies can be purchased through a selection of local retailers or pre- ordered direct from the TB Kitchen. Below, you’ll find a little more about Tulip Baroo plus some frequently asked questions.
WHO ARE WE, YOU ASK?
Owner/operator and small-town Northern Ontario native, Matthew Finateri, officially started Tulip Baroo back in 2012. At the time, he had been baking part-time from his home kitchen, supplying a small amount of products to a local coffee shop. Matthew has always been a foodie and a hobbyist in the kitchen and eventually found that his long-endeavored entrepreneurial spirit combined with his love for creating good food was taking centre stage in his ambitions. From that, Tulip Baroo was born. Over the years as the demand has grown, so has the need for kitchen space. In the summer of 2014, Tulip Baroo made the move and took up residence in it’s current Water Street location.
As a passionate animal rights advocate, it was a no-brainer that Matthew translated his personal ethics into his products, thus making everything vegan. Cognizant of the growing demand for gluten-free products and his appetite for a good challenge, Matthew decided to offer an exclusively gluten-free menu. Today, Tulip Baroo creates products that you could never guess are completely void of ingredients that you once thought were necessary in any baked good. Still, we have this unfortunate assumption that everything gluten-free or vegan (let alone, a combination of the two) must taste like cardboard. Seriously…The public needs to be schooled! Tulip Baroo hopes to play a part in changing peoples’ perspective and opening their eyes to a world where “gluten-free”, “vegan” and “holy friggin’ delicious” can all be included in the same sentence.
WHAT THE HECK DOES “TULIP BAROO” EVEN MEAN?
Your guess is as good as ours. Tulip Baroo is the name of a track from the 1999 album, The Gay Parade, by psychedelic indie-pop glam rockers, of Montreal. The Gay Parade was a concept album filled with an eclectic list of instruments, playful & quirky lyrics, mystical characters and hella catchy melodies. It’s been referred to as the Sgt. Pepper of the indie world. We think it’s an awfully cool album… and hope that you do too. Listen here!
ARE TULIP BAROO PRODUCTS SAFE FOR THOSE WITH CELIAC DISEASE?
While the chance of gluten contamination in our products is substantially low, certain flours that we use have been processed in facilities that do handle wheat flours. Some of our most loyal (and loved!) customers, who claim to be “super celiacs”, haven’t had any issues with our products. For more information on this, please view our Disclaimer.
SO, LIKE, HOW CAN I BUY YOUR PRODUCTS?
You can order anything from our menu by giving us a ring or by contacting us here. Minimum order quantities apply for things like cookies, brownies, donuts, etc.. We also feature a stellar Build-Your-Own-Cake menu which you can order through our online form. Certain single-serving goodies can also be found at the following establishments.
Jumping Bean Coffee Co..
215 Water Street (Atlantic Place),
140 Water Street (TD Building)
37 Elizabeth Avenue
115 Kelsey Drive
Mochanopoly Board Game Café
204 Water Street
The Sprout Restaurant
364 Duckworth Street
The Captain’s Table
Main Rd. (Mobile)
DO I HAVE TO CHOOSE BETWEEN GF AND VEGAN WHEN ORDERING?
No. The Tulip Baroo Kitchen is a designated vegan/gluten-free zone. All of our recipes are void of animal products, including honey, and gluten-containing ingredients. This is why we think we’re sooo special.
WHAT DOES “VEGAN” MEAN?
Vegan (pronounced VEE-gun) food is plant-based food made without the use of any animal ingredients such as meat, dairy products, eggs, lard and honey, as well as animal by-products like whey, gelatin, casein, lactose, animal-glycerides, etc. Someone who eats a plant-based diet for ethical reasons is called avegan.
WHAT IS GLUTEN?
When water and other liquids are added to wheat flour, proteins glutenin and gliadin combine to make what we refer to as “gluten”. Gluten proteins can be most easily described as a complex interconnected web of elastic-like strands that develop within a batter or dough as it’s mixed or kneaded. Gluten has, historically, been so integral to quality baking, as it builds structure, creates texture and holds moisture in baked goods. Luckily, for the business model of Tulip Baroo, we live in an age where we have access to alternate ingredients that contribute to these important features of baking.
GLUTEN vs. WHEAT. WHAT’S THE DIFF?
As discussed above, gluten is a protein present in wheat flour. Gluten is also present (to smaller degrees) is other non-wheat flours like spelt and rye, and pseudo-wheat varieties like kamut. People who have a wheat allergy or sensitivity may want to avoid wheat flour but are able to consume these other non-wheat/pseudo-wheat gluten-containing flours. People who are gluten-intolerant or celiac should not consume any of these flours. In other words, if something is “wheat-free”, it does not necessarily mean “gluten-free”, but if something is “gluten-free”, by default it is also free of wheat. Tulip Baroo uses a variety of gluten-free flours such as chickpea flour, potato starch, tapioca flour, sorghum flour, rice flour, teff flour, millet flour and others.